Just Who are the Bombers?

A few days ago I read a very disturbing article about the Taliban’s recruitment of people with disabilities. After yesterday’s suicide bombing in Kabul, I thought I would share it. The image that haunts me is of a man with obvious mental disabilities who had been recruited by the Taliban to be a suicide bomber. He showed the reporter where he would collect his payment after the bombing. He did not understand that he would die, too.

I cannot find that exact article, but here is one that explains the Taliban’s recruitment of people with disabilities.

2 responses to “Just Who are the Bombers?

  1. Thanks for that pointer. It’s a very scary, horrible, but altogether unsurprising phenomenon.

  2. I wish I could say I was shocked, but I’m not. The Taliban sees everything in black and white, and will use any method to kill as many people as possible. The people of Afghanistan are oh-so-ready to wake up from this nightmare.

    On a hopeful note — the government is doing a nation-wide consultation process with every province of Afghanistan regarding national priorities, and women’s participation has been better than expected. But, ofcourse, they haven’t gone South yet…

Leave a Reply

